IPC Biathlon and Cross-Country SkiingWorld Championships 2011

ru en


    June 2020
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr    

Russian national team became the relay Champion

On the 7th competition day, April 9, women and men relay finished with the victory of Russian team at the IPC Biathlon and Cross-Country Skiing World Championships 2011.

Maria Iovleva, Mikhalina Lysova (with the guide Alexey Ivanov) and Elena Remizova (with the guide Natalia Yakimova) won in the sport duel against the Ukrainian athletes. The Ukrainian national team got silver medals, having lost 52 seconds to the winner.

After men relay the supporters on the stadium chanted the word “Russia” again. Sergey Shilov, Kirill Mikhaylov and Nikolay Polykhin (with the guide Andrey Tokarev) became the authors of one more medal for Russian collection. The first to start was Sergey Shilov. He finished with the 4th result, being 2 minutes and 11 seconds behind Trygve Steinar Larsen. The baton was picked up by Kirill Mikhaylov, who managed to overcome his distance with the best time and got the Russian team up to the second position. Nikolay Polykhin with his guide Andrey Tokarev had to perform an impossible-doing task. They had to win 1 minute and 35 seconds back from Nils Erik Ulset of Norway. “The Russian rockets” managed not only to catch up with the rivals, but also left them 10.2 seconds behind. As a result, the Norway team got silver medals. The men relay bronze went to the Ukrainian team.

Results of men relay:

  1. Russia
  2. Norway
  3. Ukraine
  4. Belarus
  5. France

For now Russia is still on the first position of the team scoring. In its collection the national team has 43 medals: 17 gold, 12 silver and 14 bronze ones. With 16 medals of the World Championships the Ukrainian team takes the second position.  After today’s silver in men relay the Norway team is on the third position. Its athletes got up to the podium of the Word Championships for 8 times.

Leave a Reply


Team standings
1 Russia 20 13 15 48
2 Ukraine 8 9 6 23
3 Norway 1 5 3 9
4 Canada 5 2 7
4 Poland 1 5 1 7
6 Germany 2 4 6
6 Belarus 1 2 2 5
8 Finland 4 4
8 Italy 2 1 3
10 France 1 1